The Everyday Marksman

Community Hub

\\\ The Forum

What is your ideal ...

What is your ideal training progression?  

RSS

If you were just starting out today, but knowing everything you know now...what would be your order of operation? What progression would you follow from "total newb" to "experienced shooter?"

"Man is still the first weapon of war" - Field Marshal Montgomery

5 Answers

Assuming I’m back at square one with nothing....

Buy a ONE good quality pistol (glock/m&p/sig), buy ONE good ar15 with an aimpoint.   Get good holster & sling.  Buy no other guns or accessories, buy a ton of ammo & mags for them.

Next step would be to find a local trainer or two and try for a class every other month, start shooting matches monthly.  Once I’d master the basics of the platforms I’d be finding new regional trainers,  get better, find national level multi day courses to start attending.

I actually ran the numbers of everything Ive bought the other day ( I don’t advise you do it, it’s an eye opener) and the rough outline above would be very doable  if you don’t buy a ton of guns and gear.

A man after my own heart. Buy that one good weapon, the minimum required accessories, and get to work with practice and training. It's funny how often that seems to be the refrain of people who've been at this for a while.

I would actually be scared to tally up the numbers of everything I've done over the years.

It was your blog that made me realize this when I started reading it. Since the blog I've pretty much sworn off buying more guns (except for my ar pistol). I've invested mostly in ammo and am on track to go to 5 matches this year (4 pistol, 1 rifle). I've also gotten more serious about getting some sort of LBE & ways to carry my gear.

The only thing I'd change or do differently is get two of each weapon, both for redundancy and legal reasons, but your's is a solid approach.