RSS

Matt
 Matt
(@matt)
Practitioner Admin
10137 Brass
Challenges:
17/05/2019 8:33 pm  

The survival skill topic is one I've been putting off until I can really bear down on it. I'm curious as to what kinds of things you guys are interested in hearing about, though.

My background is squarely in the camping and bushcraft realm, and even there I'm more of a dabbler than a full-blown enthusiast. I'd love to get more into it, time permitting, and I think it would make for some interesting stuff to talk about. But I also realize that those are the things I'm particularly interested in.

What about you guys? What kind of survival/bushcraft/tradecraft skills are you interested in?

"Man is still the first weapon of war" - Field Marshal Montgomery

Diceman624
(@diceman624)
Engaged Member Author
1589 Brass
20/05/2019 4:33 pm  

Reaching back to my SERE experience (Survival School for non-mil), I find I'm most intrigued by two subjects.  First, I think a healthy dose of land navigation without the use of a GPS to be an important, and very perishable skill.  In five years, my skill had atrophied by the time I needed it again during my station time on my ALO tour.

The other is camp cooking, but in a minimalist sense.  Reading up on the Falklands left me with the quest to understand how to sustain myself on a multi-day, austere environment with only what I could carry or forage for.

Internet reputations may be one thing, but cold hard data is another.

ReplyQuote
Matt
 Matt
(@matt)
Practitioner Admin
10137 Brass
Challenges:
20/05/2019 9:20 pm  
Posted by: Diceman624

Reaching back to my SERE experience (Survival School for non-mil), I find I'm most intrigued by two subjects.  First, I think a healthy dose of land navigation without the use of a GPS to be an important, and very perishable skill.  In five years, my skill had atrophied by the time I needed it again during my station time on my ALO tour.